Shipping & Maritime Awards - The Maritime Standard Awards 2024TMS Awards
Patronage Message

Under the patronage of H. H. Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saeed Al Maktoum

President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority; Chairman & CEO, Emirates; Chairman, Dubai Airports.

Endorsed by:
Logo - Federal Transport Authority, Abu Dhabi

About the Awards

The Maritime Standard Awards showcases excellence across the shipping, ports and maritime sector. The tenth event in the annual series took place on Tuesday, 7th November 2023, at the Atlantis in Dubai and like all the others beforehand celebrated the achievements of the industry’s top performers with style and panache. Once again, the quality of the event and the level of attendance demonstrated clearly why it is now unquestionably the leading awards ceremony for the maritime sector in the Middle East and the Indian Subcontinent.
Over the last decade the TMS Awards have been held under the patronage of H.H. Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saeed Al Maktoum, President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority and Chairman Emirates Airline and Group, who has supported the event from the very beginning.  His  Highness received  a special Visionary Leadership Award which was presented in person by The Maritime Standard Managing Director, Trevor Pereira, and which was relayed on the screen to those present.

The special guest of honour on the night, attending for the first time, was Sheikh Khaled Al Sabah, CEO of Kuwait Oil  Tanker Company (KOTC). Sheikh Sabah and other VIPs also joined Trevor on stage for a birthday cake cutting ceremony, to mark  the 10th anniversary, which got the event off to an upbeat start. The  keynote speech was given by Mohammed Juma Al Shamisi, Chief Executive of Abu Dhabi Ports Authority. Congratulating the TMS team on its achievement, he said, “This is an important night of celebration after a decade of progress, during which time the Awards have set the benchmark for quality and integrity in our industry. It is testament to the Awards’ reputation and the esteem in which they are held that we have so many people in the ballroom tonight, with guests from across the region and internationally as well.”

The entire proceedings were kept running smoothly by the master of ceremonies, Gavin Esler, one of the world’s most respected broadcasters and presenters,  who shared some interesting  anecdotes and observations  from a career spent interviewing  politicians  and entertainment stars at the top of their careers. He was well supported by local presenter, Rania Ali, who added her usual style and professionalism to proceedings.

TMs awards Winners 2021

The evening witnessed  the presentation of 32 different awards, covering different aspects of the maritime industry, as well as special awards for individual achievement. Big winners on the night included ADNOC L&S and AD Ports Group, which each collected four trophies,  and Bahri, which picked up three of the iconic TMS Awards.

Notable individual awards went to Idris Shahpurwalla, of Saifee Ship Spare Parts and Chandlers, for Young Person in Shipping; Catriona Jayasundera, of Colombo International Container Terminals, for  Woman in  Shipping;  Captain Ammar Al Shaba of AD Ports Group for Outstanding Achievement;  Dr Anil Sharma, of GMS,  who received  the Excellence Award;  Eng Ahmed Alsubaey of Bahri, for Personality of the Year;  and Rashid Isa Rishi Al Heddi, of Seamaster Maritime, who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award. In addition, the  TMS Editor’s Choice Award was presented by Clive Woodbridge, TMS Editor, to Capt. BK Tyagi, the Chairman and Managing Director of the Shipping Corporation of India.  A link to the full list of winners can be found here.

Reflecting on a night to be remembered, Trevor added, “It was wonderful to see so many people in the ballroom. The support we have received from the industry over the past decade has been very humbling and I would like to thank everyone from the bottom of my heart for  showing faith in us. We look forward to welcoming everyone back again in 2024.”

View the highlights of last year’s TMS Awards here.


Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2024 Flagship Events LLC. All rights reserved.
Event Managed By Flagship Events LLC